A Turbulent Time

STEPPING BACK TO A TURBULENT TIME   North-west of Tredegar, on the edge of the Brecon Beacons National Park, our local walking group came across the famous Chartist Cave. In the autumn of 1839 this remote cave was reputedly used by Chartist rebels to plan, make and stockpile weapons in advance of their famous protest march on Newport in November […]

» Read more

November Walk Programme

  Sat. 4th Nov:- Llangybi. 7½ miles. Ian. (152)  Thurs 9th Nov:- Wenvoe. . Approx. 5 miles. Bert Christmas walk and lunch Thurs 7th Dec.  Sat. 11th Nov:- Sarn Helen Road. A 7½ mile walk V’Iain. (OL12)  Sat. 18th Nov:- Goytre, Port Talbot. A forest walk of 7½ miles. Ian . (165 & 166)  Sat. 25th […]

» Read more

October Walks Programme

  Saturday 7th October Goytre Warf and the Holy Well. A 7 mile walk. V’Iain (152 & OL13))  Saturday 12th October Barry – a circular walk based around Barry. Approx. 5 miles. Bert.  Saturday 14th October Cwm Clydach and Swansea Canal. A fairly level 8 mile walk. Ian (165)  Saturday 21st October Pantygasser, Nr Pontypool. 7.5 miles. […]

» Read more

September Walks Programme

  Saturday 2nd September Penperlleni, Goytre. A 7.5 mile walk. Mike (OL13)  Saturday 9th September Walk to be advised V’Iain  Saturday 16th September Black Mountains. A 8½ mile walk Ian (OL13)  Saturday 23rd September Alvington, nr Lydney. 7¼ mile walk. Mike (OL14)  Thursday 28th September Cardiff Bay A circular walk around Cardiff Bay, 6 miles of […]

» Read more
1 2